• 跨文化趋势|跨媒介转换:媒体艺术在开源时代的社会属性[上海]

  • poster_cn

    媒体艺术在开源时代的社会属性

    2011年8月26至27日跨文化趋势|跨媒介转换:国际媒体艺术研究大会发言

    此发言已发表在跨文化趋势|跨媒介转换,科智艺学术期刊上海特刊[第十卷第二 & 三期],2012年12月,英国Intellect Ltd出版

    正文

    1929年,匈牙利作家Frigyes Karinthy在其短篇小说中第一次提到了“链”的理念。简单地说,就是在我们所生活的星球上,任何一个人都可以通过其身边社交关系网中的最多6个人接触到一个其以前生活中完全不存在的陌生人[1]。1967年,哈佛大学心理学教授Stanley Milgram(1933-1984)创立了“六度分割理论”(Six Degrees of Separation),为这个理论建立了一个系统[2],却在当时遭到了社会心理学学术界的抨击。2008年,微软公司的一项研究最终证实了这个理论的成立,但实验的结果有些许差别:人际关系链的总人数实为6.6人。

    “六度分割理论”可以被看作是今天我们每个人都身处其中的“社交网络”(Social Network Service, Social Network Software, Social Network Site, 或SNS)的起源。今天,“社交网络”不再单纯代表其在互联网领域和医学领域中的专业含义,它几乎已经成为这个时代不同社会,文化和人群所共同分享的一种特定生活模式。我们通过各种不同的社交网络平台不断拓展自己的社会圈子,获取所需信息。随着开源技术(Open Source)的普及,建立这样的社交网络也不再只是计算机科学专业人员的特权,任何一个普通人,都可以通过自学,比较容易地掌握一些开源代码的使用,建立属于自己的开心网,FaceBook或是其它私人社交网络。

    中国象世界上任何一个国家一样,在开源技术支撑下,已逐渐进入社交网络发展的鼎盛时期。这为尤其敏感于创作媒介的媒体艺术家们提供了新的关注点与创作形式。随着各种探索与试验的不断推进,以社交网络系统为支持的媒体艺术创作无形中已转变了艺术品原本单纯的身份和属性,令其更多地以一种社会元素的身份存在于艺术与科技的交叉区域中,并对人类社会发展产生直接影响,如美国艺术家Max Kazemzadeh的交互装置,美好愿望(Wishing Well)。

    最初建立在FaceBook(FB)社交网络上运行的“美好愿望”是一件以呼吁FB用户通过艺术家设置的特殊网站无限发送美好愿望的线上交互作品。初步接触这个作品,你会觉得它有点象一个电子游戏,可以让你在任何时间段和任何地点,通过一个提供因特网连接的计算机终端(你的家里,办公室,或公共网吧等)玩一下。但实际上,这部作品自身的含义,对与其互动的个体的影响以及对社会的影响,都远远不象我们表面上看到的那么简单。它探索了人类个体的思想意识与行为与创建于机器虚拟空间中的社交网络之间的互动,尤其是个体通过这种互动,对表面上似乎在控制人类意识与行为的社交网络的反控制和改变。艺术家所关注的不仅仅是人机交流时的微妙关系,更关注这种微妙关系是如何通过存在于虚拟空间的社交网络系统,去影响集体的意识与行为,从而对整个人类社会产生不同的改变。

    在Max的试验中,连接在这些愿望上的植物因愿望属性的不同,其生长状态也产生着截然不同的发展。被连接到“美好愿望”机体的植物可以比正常培植的植物生长得更为健康茂盛,而被连接到负面消极思想机体的植物却最终枯萎死去。这个试验为艺术家期望证实的理论提供了有趣的证据:同样具有生命的人类,也可以通过乐观或消极的思想,去影响其所身处的社会环境的发展。这也是我们决定在中国展出这个作品的同时,产生了通过某个特定事件证实作品本身的社会属性与功能的想法。

    北京成龙慈善基金会所支持的慈善项目为我们提供了这样一个实践的机会,恰到好处地回应了Max作品期望阐述的所有主题:人机交流,开源系统对于社交网络的支持,这种支持又如何令人类个体的声音得以释放并备受社会的关注(这里所指的“个体的声音”包括了个人的思想,言论,行为举止以及与其身处的社区的互动和相互影响)。个体声音通过社交网络得以释放,并影响了集体意识的走向,进而影响到更加广泛的社会群体的发展。在层层互动中,作品自身已经转化为社会元素之一,实际地为其所身处的社会贡献积极的力量。“美好愿望”的属性因此与我们通常看到的新媒体艺术创作有很大的不同:作为信息的传递者,它担负了具体的社会使命;作为艺术创作,它更偏重于作品与社会上不同元素的互动,及对随之而来的各种现象的挖掘。换句话说,艺术家更迫切了解的是其作品身份的转换及对其身处环境的影响,而非仅止于对美学问题的探讨。

    艺术无法脱离社会的支持而独立存在。它的灵感来源于社会,但只是社会众多元素中的一个,对于社会的反映,也只能是通过抽象的隐喻去表达。我们寄期望于艺术可以真实地改变社会,但这种改变的力量却通常因为大多数艺术家一贯自愿奉行的小众性而变得极其薄弱。我们一方面在鼓吹普及艺术教育,让艺术突破瓶颈,走出象牙塔,为大众所理解和接受,一方面却在暗地里为大众面对艺术的迷茫与失措而沾沾自喜。我们一边抱怨太少的人可以真正欣赏创作者的理念与梦想,一边却偷偷害怕自己的“艺术”因大众的参与而远离了“阳春白雪”,不再为普通社会所敬仰崇拜。随着开源技术的普遍与社交网络的盛行,人类社会早已进入资源万物共享时代,以“贵族思想”所支撑的艺术创作其实早已岌岌可危。

    “美好愿望”在中国展出的版本所传达的远非仅止是中国社会对于在自然灾害影响下那些受难的生命的关爱,更多地是在传达着一个崭新时代的到来,和在这个时代中,同时掌握着艺术与科技两种技巧的职业工作者的社会使命。在这个时代里,我们已经远远不能止步于对审美的研究,诠释,时代的特性决定我们必须更加近距离地审视科技与科学构造人类社会的力量,思考艺术在这个用科技构造的社会中,可以为科技做些什么,其身份究竟有着什么样的转变,其形式传达着什么样的信息,其存在又将为人类社会的发展做出什么样的推进。

    2011年6月10日于北京家中


    [1] 参考文章:Six Degrees of Separation,作者不详,发表于http://www.whatis.techtarget.com网站,日期不详。

    [2] 参考:Small world experiment,原载于http//:en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smaill_world_experiment

• Transcultural Tendencies|Transmedial Transactions: The Social Properties of Media Arts in an Open Source Era [Shanghai]

  • poster_en

    The Social Properties of Media Arts in an Open Source Era

    Speech on Transcultural Tendencies | Transmedial Transactions International Conference for Media Arts Research, August 26-27, 2011, Shanghai, China

    The current speech is published in Transcultural Tendencies | Transmedial Transactions, Special Issue in Technoetic Arts Journal [Volume 10 Issue 2 & 3], Dec., 2012, Intellect Ltd. UK

    Abstract

    “Six Degrees of Separation” is analogous to what we have come to know as the origins of the “Social Network” (Social Network Service, Social Network Software of SNS). In our time, the application of the “Social Network” become a common mode of living shared ubiquitously by different societies, cultures, and communities. With a population of open source technology, the creation of social networks is no longer the exclusive domain of professional computer programmers. In China, Social Networking also became the new focus of new media artists that are extremely sensitive to materials and creative media. The current analysis is based on the collaboration between American artist Max Kazemzadeh and Beijing Jackie Chan Charitable Foundation, in the exhibition of Max’ interactive work, “Wishing Well” in China. It tries to showcase the intriguing interaction between the Social Network Service, the human being and Chinese society, invite the readers to re-exam the role and duties of the artist in our time.

    Final article

    The Social Properties of Media Arts in an Open Source Era

    In one of his short stories written in 1929, Hungarian author Frigyes Karinthy first mentioned the concept of “Chains”, which referred to the idea of through a chain of social relationship, each one of us is on average approximately six steps away from any of another person on Earth. Then Harvard Psychologist Stanley Milgram (1933-1984) established the concept of “Six Degrees of Separation” in 1967 and created a systemic framework for this theory by empirically measuring the connectedness and garnered many detractors from the scientific community. A study by Microsoft in 2008 proved the “Sic Degrees” theory even though the results were slightly differing that of Milgram’s findings: Everyone is on average 6.6 degrees away from any of another person on Earth.

    Today, “Six Degrees of Separation” is analogous to what we have come to know as the origins of the “Social Network” (Social Network Service, Social Network Software of SNS). In our time, the application of the “Social Network” isn’t solely represented by the Internet or in medical fields. It has already become a common mode of living shared ubiquitously by different societies, cultures, and communities. Through various platforms, we continually expand our social circles and acquire information. With a population of open source technology, the creation of social networks is no longer the exclusive domain of professional computer programmers. Through self-study, nearly everyone can learn and utilize with relative ease open source coding to create their own community on kaixin.com, weibo.com, Face Book, or other personal social networks.

    In China as in any of another country on this planet, supported by Open Source Technology, the development of Social Networking has reached its peak, which became the new focus of Chinese new media artists that are extremely sensitive to materials and creative media. Along with the continuous advance of research and exploration, new media art based on SNS have altered its original identity and properties, and transformed into certain social element inhabiting the cross-cutting areas of art and technology. It has a direct impact on the development of human society, such as Max Kazemzadeh’s interactive installation, “Wishing Well”.

    Wishing Well is originally a web server created by the artist with the support of open source software to collect people’s wishes. The artist first based his installation on FaceBook. When we exhibited this work in China, in the meanwhile we remained the artist’s original API, we “plugged it in” the largest local SNS, Weibo.com so that the Chinese visitors could also submit their wishes to the Wishes Archive via personal computer or their mobile SMS. At the first contact, you might think that this work is nothing more than a fun application that allows you to send your wishes to anyone, from anywhere, at any time, as long as your computer is connected to an Intel computer terminal whether at home, at the office, or at any online computer. However, in actuality, the connotations of this work, its impact on technological interactivity as well as social connectivity, is far more profound than it appears. The Face Book API helped the artist to explore a cross-section of human consciousness and behavior and its interactivity between a virtual space and real life. In particular, the individual through this interaction, offers what seems to be on the surface, control human consciousness and behavior in a social network of anti-control and change. The artist behind Wishing Well is not only concerned with the relationship between man and machine, but more importantly, how this delicate relationship exists in virtual space through the social network system, how it influences the collective consciousness and behavior, and thus the evolution of human society.

    A few weeks before Max flew to Beijing to produce a work on site, a meeting between me, some friends and the Beijing Jackie Chan Charitable Foundation inspired me to curate Max’ solo show in another way. Jackie Chan’s foundation aims to support the victim children suffering from the constant natural disasters in South of China, while talking to them I got the idea to make Max’ work the main carrier for information transmission between the foundation and the people they support.

    The concept was to invite visitors to submit wishes either on site at the exhibition or remotely, through the artist’s self-designed API, the Chinese Social network system, Weibo.com and the mobile phone SMS system at the same time. The wishes should be responding to the aim of Jackie Chan Charitable Foundation, supporting the victims suffering from the decease in China. After the show, the wishes are collected by the Foundation in order to be transferred to the victims in the specific documentation as souvenir.

    Through “Wishing Well” we hope to affirm the social attributes of this artwork by giving it a specific social purpose. The Beijing Jackie Chan Charitable Foundation provided us with an opportunity to support its mission and simultaneously test the theory of the artist’s work: that the open source system supporting social network is a major channel to voice the concerns of the individual to a world audience.

    The “voice of the individual” here includes a person’s thoughts, words, behavior, and their interaction within the community and its influence on each other. In “Wishing Well”, individual voices can be channeled through the social network and affect the direction of collective consciousness, thereby affecting the broader development of social groups. The interactions that the artwork facilitates work on many levels: the work has transformed itself from art to an element of everyday life – a living organism and positive force for its contribution to the entire community. Therefore, the properties of “Wishing Well” are vastly different compared to newest media artworks interactivity on many layers with differing elements of social interaction and subsequent phenomena in its wake. In other words, the artist is not limited by mere discussion on the issue of aesthetics but more eager to understand the transformation of his work and the social impact on its environment.

    Art cannot be divorced from society – it does not exist in a vacuum. Art is inspired by its community and is only one of its many elements, expressed through metaphor and in the abstract. “Wishing Well” is inspired by the idea of community and how communities shape society. As for being a reflection of society, it is only one artwork, one metaphor out of many that defines that we are as a people. While it is our most sincere hope that the function of art can truly change society, the truth is that much of an art is directed at a very small sector of society and the power of art is very weak. With the proliferation of open source technology and the popularity of social network, human society has already stepped forth into an era of resource sharing, rendering “noble ideas” propped up by patrons of the arts – a long-precarious and now arcane practice. We advocate for universal arts education and artists to reach beyond and transcend the limitations that confines us to the ivory tower.

    The message of “Wishing Well’s” China exhibition is much more than offering a platform for Chinese people to show their love and goodwill to the survivors of the chain of natural disasters. Its purpose is to convey that we already are in the midst of a new era, an era where professional’s proficient in both art and technology can work towards an altruistic social mission.

    In this day and age, art cannot stubbornly cling to aesthetic research and interpretation. A sign of the times beckons us make a closer examination of the way in which science and technology can be bridged by art, to think about how art can steer technology in a world where technological innovations have structured much of today’s society. It also allows us to understand how the identity of art can change, the forms it takes, the kinds of information it can convey, ad its existence and future in the progress of humankind.

    Reference

    Unknown author, Six Degrees of Separation. Published on http://wwwlwhatis.techtarget.com Date unknown.

    Small world experiment. Published on http://:en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Small_word_experiment